Search This Blog

Friday, August 19, 2016

And The Award Goes To.... The 2016 CBCA Awards

Taken from the CBCA web site. Fair usage.

And here they are, after we've been waiting for such a long time, from the long list onwards. Congratulations to everyone who got even that far. The long list used to be the Notables and I remember one judge saying that for something to get a Notable at least six judges had to think it should be in the short list. That's nice to know, as someone who has had two Notables and a Clayton's short listing. So even if you got no further than the long list, authors, you've done well, just like someone who got into the Olympics, even if they didn't get a medal.

I have said I'm pleased with the winners this year, though I wish The Flywheel had got an Honour book.  But something I've found over the years is that once you've been on the short list you're likely to win another time and this year they had two books to choose from in that respect. So Erin Gough might make it another time, I do hope so. Or maybe she'll be in next year's YABBAs or, more likely, Inkys, for this one. I hope so. 

CBCA Awards 2016 winners -  from the Books And Publishing web site

This year's Children's Book Council of Australia Awards go to the following

The winning titles in each of the categories are:

Older Readers


Cloudwish (Fiona Wood, Macmillan)

Honour books

A Single Stone (Meg McKinlay, Walker Books)
Inbetween Days (Vikki Wakefield, Text)

Younger Readers


Soon (Morris Gleitzman, Viking)

Honour books  

Shadows of the Master (Emily Rodda, Omnibus)

Sister Heart (Sally Morgan, Fremantle Press)

Early Childhood


Mr Huff (Anna Walker, Viking)

Honour books

Perfect (Danny Parker, illus by Freya Blackwood, Little Hare)
The Cow Tripped over the Moon (Tony Wilson, illus by Laura Wood, Scholastic)

Picture Book of the Year


Flight (Nadia Wheatley, illus by Armin Greder, Windy Hollow)

Honour books

One Step at a Time (Jane Jolly, illus by Sally Heinrich, MidnightSun)
Ride, Ricardo, Ride! (Phil Cummings, illus by Shane Devries, Omnibus)

Eve Pownall Award for Information Books


Lennie the Legend: Solo to Sydney by Pony (Stephanie Owen Reeder, NLA Publishing)

Honour books

Ancestry: Stories of Multicultural Anzacs (Robyn Siers & Carlie Walker, Department of Veterans’ Affairs)
Phasmid: Saving the Lord Howe Island Stick Insect (Rohan Cleave, illus by Coral Tulloch, CSIRO Publishing)

Crichton Award for New Illustrators

The Underwater Fancy-Dress Parade (Davina Bell, illus by Allison Colpoys, Scribe)


Unknown said...

I'm sure the winners are so happy! It's nice to see many publishing houses represented and not just the Big 5. Have a great weekend, Sue!

Sue Bursztynski said...

Now you mention it, there are a few publishers. Some are smaller than others and Omnibus, I believe, has been swallowed by Scholastic(pity, I have fond memories of being published by Omnibus). And Viking is an imprint of Penguin, which has swallowed Random House.

And yes, I bet the winners are thrilled. I would be!